Velika župa Vrhbosna

Language of Description
1941 - 1945
Level of Description
  • Croatian
  • Latin

Extent and Medium

Fond includes 18 books, 105 boxes, 75 folders of records

Biographical History

Two months after the creation of "Independent State of Croatia", which included Bosnia and Herzegovina, on 10th of June 1941 new legislation was created which formed new regions (velike župe). The state had 22 of these regions at first: Zagorje, Prigorje,Bilogora, Baranja, Vuka, Posavlje, Livac i Zapolje, Gora, Pokuplje, Modruša, Vinodol, Gacka i Lika, Pribir i Sidraga, Cetina, Hum, Dubrava, Usora i Soli, Lašva i Glaž, Pliva i Rama, Krbava i Psat, Sana i Luka, and Vrhbosna. As a head of each "velika župa" there was a governor (veliki župan) that had ministerial authority and led complete civil service in his region. After the capitulation of Italy (9th of September 1943) the "Independent State of Croatia" was expanded and so were its regions. In this expansion, region of Vrhbosna gained 7 counties, 4 county offices and 54 municipalities. Newly gained counties were: Čajniče, Foča, Rogatica, Sarajevo, Srebrenica, Višegrad and Vlasenica, along with county offices in Prača, Goražde, Kalinovik and Trnovo.

Scope and Content

Records of Velika župa Vrhbosna (Independent State of Croatia's region governed from Sarajevo), 1941 - 1945.

System of Arrangement

Has several series and subseries: A. Books

  1. Secret protocol (registry), 1942.
  2. Registry, 1941-1944.
  3. Directories, 1941-1943.

B. Records:

  1. General records, 1941-1945 (105 boxes)
  2. Technical department, 1941-1945.
  3. Department for refugees, 1941-1942.
  4. Personal office of Main Ustaša Headquarters - department for Bosnia and Herzegovina, 1941. (12 folders)

Finding Aids

  • Published guide: SARIĆ Samija, Arhivski fond Velike župe Vrhbosna, Glasnik arhiva i Društva arhivskih radnika Bosne i Hercegovine, god 14-15, no. 14-15, Sarajevo 1974-1975, pg. 37-42.

Rules and Conventions

EHRI Guidelines for Description v.1.0