Arhiv Tuzlanskog kantona

  • Archives of Tuzla Canton
  • Tuzla County Archives


Franje Ledera 1
Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Bosnia & Herzegovina


+387 35 252 620


+387 35 252 620


The establishment of the Archives of Tuzla Canton and the establishment of archival activities in the wider Tuzla area was carried out only after the Second World War. The Canton Archives were founded by the City People's Committee in Tuzla on 1 July 1954, in accordance with the recommendation of the Executive Council of the People's Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina (NR BiH) No. 3768/53 of 24 January 1954.

The Archives of Tuzla Canton were founded as the Archives of Tuzla town, and started to supervise the region of northeast Bosnia which, since 1962 , includes 19 municipalities. Regional Archive jurisdiction was in force until 1992, when it stopped due to war circumstances, and the jurisdiction officially ceased to exist in 1995. The territorial jurisdiction of the present-day Archives of Tuzla Canton is related to the development of archival service in Bosnia and Herzegovina, which was repeatedly adapted to the political-administrative organization of Bosnia and Herzegovina. Notably, in 1968, the Archives of Tuzla town's collection centre became part of the former Archives in Doboj. This integration came about mainly due to political reasons. Consequently, the Archives of Tuzla's area of jurisdiction was expanded to a total of 28 municipalities: Banovići, Bijeljina, Bosanski Samac, Bosanski Brod, Bratunac, Brčko, Derventa, Doboj, Gracanica, Gradacac,Kalesija, Kladanj, Lopare, Lukavac, Maglaj, Modrica, Odžak, Orašje, Srebrenica, Srebrenik,Sekovici, Teslic, Tesanj, Tuzla, Ugljevik, Vlasenica, Zvornik and Zivinice. This integration did not achieve the expected results and, as early at 1973, the single institution disintegrated into two: the Archives of Tuzla and Archives in Doboj.

From then until 1992, the Archives of Tuzla had jurisdiction over 19 municipalities of northeast Bosnia: Banovici, Bijeljina, Bratunac, Brčko, Gracanica,Gradacac, Kalesija, Kladanj, Lopare, Lukavac, Orašje, Srebrenica Srebrenik, Sekovici, Tuzla, Ugljevik, Vlasenica, Zvornik and Zivinice. From 1977 to 1994, Archives of Tuzla has existed as "Regional Historical Archive Tuzla". Due to wartime circumstances and the establishment of the District Tuzla, the Archive was renamed the Historical Archive of Tuzla Canton, and therefore had authority over the creators and holders of current records in this area, which was under the control of the Army of Bosnia and Herzegovina. After the war and after the signing of the Dayton Agreement in the Archive had jurisdiction over the creators and holders in the area of 13 municipalities of Tuzla Canton, which until 1999 belonged to the part of the municipality of Brčko, which significantly reduced the territorial jurisdiction of the Archives. For the development and operation of the Archives of Tuzla in the period after the war, i.e., after the signing of the Dayton Agreement, it was essential to adopt the Law on Archives of Tuzla Canton in 2000. According to the provisions of this Act, the Archive in 2002 re-registered as the Archives of Tuzla Canton, the name under which it operates today. Specific organisational changes through which the Archive went were the result of wider social trends, especially changes of a territorial-administrative nature.

Finding Aids, Guides, and Publication

Published finding aids:

Šabotić, I, Hodžić N., Isić S. Vodič kroz arhivske fondove i zbirke Arhiva Tuzlanskog kantona (Guide through archival fonds and collections of the Archives of Tuzla Canton), Tuzla: Arhiv Tuzlanskog kantona, 2012, 2015. 427 p. (also available on the website, Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian only).

Opening Times

Working days from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Reproduction Services

Photocopies and digitised copies available on demand.


  • Website of the institution:

If you can help improve this information please contact us at